Broadway Theater Tickets, Plays, Musical, Off-Broadway

Spring Awakening Tickets & Information

Eugene O'Neill Theatre

230 West 49th Street

Between Broadway and 8th Avenue

New York NY 10019 View on map

Spring Awakening Summary

The winner of 8 2007 Tony Awards - including Best Musical, Best Book, and Best Score - Spring Awakening has been called "the best musical of a generation" (NY Observer). Adapted from Frank Wedekind's play of the same name, with an acclaimed score by Duncan Sheik and Steven Sater, book by Steven Sater and direction by Tony-winner Michael Mayer, Spring Awakening boldly depicts how a dozen young people make their way through the thrilling, complicated, confusing and mysterious time of their sexual awakening.

Spring Awakening Cast Recording on iTunes

Spring Awakening Cast Members:

Gerard Canonico, Tony Carlin, Amanda Castanos, Blake Daniel, Matt Doyle, Andrew Durand, Christine Estabrook, Glenn Fleshler, Emma Hunton, Morgan Karr, Emily Kinney, Caitlin Kinnunen, Alice Lee, Frances Mercanti-Anthony, Eryn Murman, Hunter Parrish, Zach Reiner-Harris, Alexandra Socha, Jesse Swenson, Jenna Ushkowitz, Gabriel Violett

Spring Awakening Creative Team

Book: Steven Sater
Music: Duncan Sheik
Lyrics: Steven Sater
Director: Michael Mayer
Choreographer: Bill T. Jones
Producer: Spring Awakening LLC
Press Agent: Fifteen Minutes Public Relations

Spring Awakening Award Winners/Nominees

Nominated for 11 2007 Tony Awards
  • Best Musical - Winner!
  • Best Book of a Musical - Steven Sater - Winner!
  • Best Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics) Written for the Theatre - Music: Duncan Sheik; Lyrics: Steven Sater - Winner!
  • Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Musical - Jonathan Groff
  • Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Musical - John Gallagher, Jr. - Winner!
  • Best Scenic Design of a Musical - Christine Jones
  • Best Costume Design of a Musical - Susan Hilferty
  • Best Lighting Design of a Musical - Kevin Adams - Winner!
  • Best Direction of a Musical - Michael Mayer - Winner!
  • Best Choreography - Bill T. Jones - Winner!
  • Best Orchestrations - Duncan Sheik - Winner!

Nominated for 6 2007 Lucille Lortel Awards:

  • Outstanding Musical - Winner!
  • Outstanding Director - Michael Mayer
  • Outstanding Choreographer - Bill T. Jones
  • Outstanding Costume Design - Susan Hilferty
  • Outstanding Lighting Design - Kevin Adams - Winner!
  • Outstanding Sound Design - Brian Ronan
Nominated for 3 2006 - 2007 Outer Critics Circle Awards
  • Outstanding New Broadway Musical - Winner!
  • Outstanding New Score - Winner!
  • Outstanding Director of a Musical - Michael Mayer - Winner!
Nominated for 10 2006 - 2007 Drama Desk Awards
  • Outstanding Musical - Winner!
  • Outstanding Actor in a Musical - John Gallagher, Jr.
  • Outstanding Actor in a Musical - Jonathan Groff
  • Outstanding Actress in a Musical - Lea Michele
  • Outstanding Director of a Musical - Michael Mayer - Winner!
  • Outstanding Choreography - Bill T. Jones
  • Outstanding Music - Duncan Sheik - Winner!
  • Outstanding Lyrics - Steven Sater - Winner!
  • Outstanding Book of a Musical - Steven Sater
  • Outstanding Orchestrations - Duncan Sheik

Spring Awakening Quick Facts

Running Time:

2 hours and 15 minutes, including one 15 minute intermission.

Price Range

See this week's prices

Audience :

May be inappropriate for 13 and under. (Spring Awakening is recommended for mature audiences - for strong language, brief nudity, and adult themes.)
Children under the age of 4 are not permitted in theatre.

First Preview Date Opening Date
November 16, 2006 December 10, 2006

Mail Order

Spring Awakening Mail Order
P. O. Box 998
Times Square Station
New York, NY 10108-0998